Security code

What are the IEC 60034 electric motor efficiency ratings?

EU MEPS (the European Minimum Energy Performance Standard scheme) sets mandatory minimum efficiency ratings for electric motors sold in European markets. Using efficiency classes defined in international standard IEC 60034-30, the ratings cover single-speed, three-phase induction motors up to 375kW. Efficiency classes exist as part of a global effort to reduce energy consumption and CO2 emissions. Higher-efficiency motors are beneficial to the end-user as they provide long-term energy savings and improved performance.

Under EU MEPS, electric motors are graded for efficiency as follows:

IE1 – Standard efficiency

As of 16 June 2011, all electric motors sold in the EU must meet the IE2 efficiency level as a minimum. Therefore, IE1-rated motors are now obsolete.

IE2 – High efficiency

This standard is comparable to the old Eff1 rating. From 1 January 2015, motors with a rated output of 7.5 – 375kW must meet EITHER the IE3 efficiency level (see below) or the IE2 level if fitted with a variable-speed drive.

IE3 – Premium efficiency

From 1 January 2017, motors with a rated output of 0.75 – 375kW must meet either the IE3 efficiency level or the IE2 level if fitted with a variable-speed drive.

IE4 – Super premium efficiency

This level has yet to be officially defined by the IEC. However, some suppliers are already offering IE4 efficiency, such as ABB’s SynRM drive and motor package.

Gibbons supplies a comprehensive range of ABB electric motors ex-stock – along with our own range – to ensure our customers meet current and future legislation. Give us a call on 01621 868138 or email and we’ll be happy to help find the ideal motor for your application.

Electric Motors

Add comment

Back to Blog